Skip to content
Who is the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) – Niagara Centre?

Since its founding in 1890, the RASC has played a special role in amateur and professional astronomy. Today, it has more than 4900 members who share a passion for the night sky and contribute to astronomy in many ways. The Niagara Centre, one of the 29 Centres of the RASC, has been bringing astronomy to the Niagara Region since 1960. The Niagara Centre has 85 members from all across the Niagara Region.

Monthly General Meeting

The RASC: Niagara Centre monthly meetings are held in the Forestview Wing of the Nature Centre. Beginners will meet from 6-7pm and the general meetings will be 7-9pm.

  • Thursday, February 15
  • Thursday, March 21
  • Thursday, April 18 *Come out to hear all about the solar eclipse
  • Thursday, May 16
  • Thursday, June 20
  • Thursday, September 19
  • Thursday, October 17
  • Thursday, November 21
  • Thursday, December 19

Public Star Nights

Clear skies permitting, the RASC: Niagara Centre will be at Heartland Forest just after sunset with their amazing telescopes to look at the Moon, planets, stars, galaxies and more! Free and fun for the whole family, you can find them just past the mini golf course.

  • Saturday, March 16 at 7:30pm
  • Saturday, April 13 at 7:30pm
  • Saturday, May 18 from 11am – 3pm and after 8pm
  • It’s International Astronomy Day!
    • 11am-3pm: With their safe solar telescopes to show people the Sun.
    • 8pm-11pm: They will be here after 8pm to look at the Moon, planets and stars.

Solar Viewing

Join the RASC: Niagara Centre at WinterFest for solar observing with their safe telescopes. If it’s clear you will be looking at sunspots, solar flares and more!

(This event is ticketed, please visit our event page to reserve your spot)

  • Saturday, February 24th: 10am to 3pm
To Top